Galaxy A-Series 128GB vs 256GB: Which Storage to Buy? (UK)

The same-condition storage gap on a Galaxy A phone at The Tech Gadgets ranges from 51p (two A37 5G listings, White only at 256GB) to £60.00 in Very Good (A54 5G; £67.00 in Like New). This guide shows every gap, which models take a microSD card, and when 256GB is worth paying for, including a dedicated Galaxy A57 5G section.

Pay for 256GB on a Galaxy A phone when the model has no microSD slot (the Galaxy A36 5G, A37 5G, A56 5G and A57 5G), when you film a lot of 4K video, or when the price gap is small. For everyone else, 128GB plus a memory card is enough. At The Tech Gadgets the same-condition gap ran from 51p (two Galaxy A37 5G listings, White only at 256GB) to £60.00 in Very Good (Galaxy A54 5G; £67.00 in Like New) on 5 October 2026, so the answer changes from model to model.

The limitation you can't undo: on the four card-less models, the storage you choose is the storage you keep.

Compare Galaxy Phones in StockCompare Open Box Galaxy A27, A37 and A57 Listings

Storage, colour and condition are chosen on each product page. Prices were checked on 5 October 2026 and can change.

Who needs 256GB? The quick decision

  • Best for 128GB: anyone buying a model with a card slot who backs photos up to the cloud, and anyone likely to replace the phone within two years.
  • Best for 256GB: the A36 5G, A37 5G, A56 5G or A57 5G (the A37 and A57 are sold here as Open Box international stock) if you record video or keep phones four years or more; also the A55 5G and A35 5G, where the Very Good gap is £16.00 or less.
  • Consider an alternative when: the gap is large for the phone (the A54 5G's +£60.00 is 48% of its 128GB price), or support ends before you could fill 256GB.
  • Check before buying: whether RAM changes with storage, whether a card would take your second SIM slot, and how long Samsung will update the model.

Storage prices compared: every two-size Galaxy A at The Tech Gadgets

Cheapest price per storage size at the same condition, checked 5 October 2026: Very Good for refurbished rows, Brand New for the A06 and A07 (64GB vs 128GB), Open Box (Activated) international stock for the A27, A37 and A57. Card support is from Samsung's specifications; RAM is from the listing or Samsung UK, as labelled.

Model and condition Smaller size Larger size Gap (larger minus smaller) microSD RAM by size
Galaxy A06 (4G), Brand New 64GB £115.99 128GB £123.99 £123.99 − £115.99 = £8.00 Yes, own slot, to 1TB 4GB on 64GB (listing); 128GB not stated
Galaxy A07 (4G), Brand New 64GB £128.99 128GB £141.99 £141.99 − £128.99 = £13.00 Yes, own slot, to 2TB 4GB on both (listing)
Galaxy A16 4G, Very Good 128GB £100.99 256GB £118.99 £118.99 − £100.99 = £18.00 Yes, hybrid, to 1.5TB 4GB on 128GB (Samsung UK); 256GB varies by unit
Galaxy A16 5G, Very Good 128GB £128.99 256GB £151.99 £151.99 − £128.99 = £23.00 Yes, hybrid, to 1.5TB 4GB on 128GB (Samsung UK); 256GB varies by unit
Galaxy A17 5G, Very Good 128GB £165.99 256GB £194.99 £194.99 − £165.99 = £29.00 Yes, hybrid, to 2TB 4GB on 128GB (Samsung UK); 256GB not stated
Galaxy A26 5G, Very Good 128GB £165.99 256GB £194.99 £194.99 − £165.99 = £29.00 Yes, hybrid, to 2TB 8GB on 256GB (Samsung UK); 128GB varies by unit
Galaxy A27 5G, Open Box (Activated) 128GB £233.99 256GB £263.99 £263.99 − £233.99 = £30.00 Yes, hybrid, to 2TB 8GB on 256GB (listing); 128GB not stated
Galaxy A34 5G, Very Good 128GB £131.99 256GB £157.99 £157.99 − £131.99 = £26.00 Yes, hybrid, to 1TB 6GB or 8GB (listing)
Galaxy A35 5G, Very Good 128GB £136.99 256GB £152.99 £152.99 − £136.99 = £16.00 Yes, hybrid, to 1TB 6GB or 8GB (listing)
Galaxy A36 5G, Very Good 128GB £211.99 256GB £248.99 £248.99 − £211.99 = £37.00 No Varies by unit (listing)
Galaxy A37 5G, Open Box (Activated) 128GB £273.48 256GB £273.99 £273.99 − £273.48 = £0.51 No Not stated; Samsung UK pairs 6GB with 128GB, 8GB with 256GB
Galaxy A53 5G, Very Good 128GB £93.99 256GB £111.99 £111.99 − £93.99 = £18.00 Yes, hybrid, to 1TB 6GB or 8GB (listing)
Galaxy A54 5G, Very Good 128GB £124.99 256GB £184.99 £184.99 − £124.99 = £60.00 Yes, hybrid, to 1TB 8GB on both (listing)
Galaxy A55 5G, Very Good 128GB £179.99 256GB £194.99 £194.99 − £179.99 = £15.00 Yes, hybrid, to 1TB 8GB on both (listing)
Galaxy A56 5G, Very Good 128GB £243.99 256GB £286.99 £286.99 − £243.99 = £43.00 No 8GB on 256GB (Samsung UK); 128GB varies by unit
Galaxy A57 5G, Open Box (Activated) 128GB £278.99 256GB £328.99 £328.99 − £278.99 = £50.00 No 8GB on both (listing)

Eight models come in one size only, so the decision is simply whether to add a card:

  • Galaxy A06 5G, Brand New: 64GB, from £120.99, hybrid slot to 1.5TB.
  • Galaxy A07 5G, Brand New: 64GB, from £133.99, hybrid slot to 2TB.
  • Galaxy A07s (4G), Open Box (Activated), international: 64GB, £137.99, own slot to 2TB.
  • Galaxy A08 (4G), Open Box (Activated), international: 64GB, £159.99, own slot to 2TB.
  • Galaxy A15 5G, Brand New: 128GB, £163.99, hybrid slot to 1TB.
  • Galaxy A17 4G, Brand New: 128GB, £167.99, hybrid slot to 2TB.
  • Galaxy A18 (4G), Open Box (Activated), international: 128GB, £239.00, hybrid slot to 2TB.
  • Galaxy A33 5G, Refurbished: 128GB, from £123.99 (Very Good), hybrid slot to 1TB.

Every 64GB phone here takes a card, which is what makes 64GB workable. Budget for one.

How much space do photos, 4K video, WhatsApp and games really take?

Samsung UK's buying guide puts an average photo at about 5MB, a minute of 4K video at about 300MB and a minute of Full HD at about 100MB, with individual apps using 40MB to 1GB. It also advises leaving about 10GB for updates plus a 20% buffer. On those figures, regular 4K filming fills 128GB far faster than photos do. WhatsApp media and big games depend on your habits.

The figures below are estimates, not measurements. Method: Samsung UK's average sizes multiplied by an example habit over 24 months, counting 1GB as 1,000MB. Your numbers will vary with resolution, scene detail and settings.

Example habit (assumption) Estimated space per month Estimated space after two years
150 photos a month at about 5MB each 750MB 150 × 5MB × 24 = 18GB
10 minutes of 4K video a month at about 300MB a minute 3GB 10 × 300MB × 24 = 72GB
30 minutes of Full HD video a month at about 100MB a minute 3GB 30 × 100MB × 24 = 72GB
40 apps at Samsung's upper figure of 1GB each One-off Up to 40GB

The table can't estimate WhatsApp, which swings with busy groups and automatic downloads (the app's own storage settings show the real figure), or large games, which can exceed Samsung's typical app range.

The same guide also lists what “a 128GB smartphone on average can store”: 900 photos, 60 minutes of UHD video, 1,000 songs, 100+ apps and games, and 20 movies. It doesn't say whether that's one combined load; read item by item it would contradict its own sizes (900 photos at 5MB is only 4.5GB). Real file sizes vary with resolution, frame rate and settings, so treat our table as a rough guide.

You also never get the full 128GB, because Android, One UI and preinstalled apps occupy part of it. Samsung's guide suggests adding about 10GB for files and software updates to your expected use, then 20% as a buffer. Our arithmetic on that rule: 60GB of use becomes (60 + 10) × 1.2 = 84GB, which fits 128GB; 100GB becomes 132GB, which points to 256GB or a card. Search “storage” in your current phone's Settings to find your starting figure.

When does a microSD card make 128GB enough?

A card makes 128GB enough when photos, video, music or downloads are what fill your phone, because those can live on the card. Samsung's guide says external memory stores media but not applications, so a card won't help with apps and games. On most models the card shares the second SIM slot, and the A36 5G, A37 5G, A56 5G and A57 5G have no card slot at all.

Two slot designs decide whether a card is free to add:

  • Its own slot (two SIMs and a card together): Galaxy A06 (4G), Galaxy A07 (4G), Galaxy A07s (4G) and Galaxy A08 (4G).
  • Hybrid slot (second SIM or card): everything else with card support. On the A35 5G, A54 5G and A55 5G, Samsung UK's specification also lists eSIM, which may let you keep a second line on eSIM while the hybrid slot holds a card; Samsung doesn't state that all three work at once, so check with the team first. On the A16 4G, A16 5G, A17 5G, A26 5G, A27 5G, A33 5G, A34 5G and A53 5G, the UK specifications list no eSIM, so a card means giving up the second physical SIM.

If you run two numbers on a hybrid model without eSIM, treat internal storage as all you'll have. A card is also an extra purchase; on the A55 5G the internal upgrade is only £15.00.

When is 256GB worth paying for?

Pay for 256GB when the phone has no card slot and you film or download a lot, when the gap is about £16 or less, or when you'll keep the phone four years or more and Samsung's support lasts that long. Stay at 128GB when a card or cloud backup covers you, or when the phone's support is close to its end.

Choose 256GB when…

  • You're buying an A36 5G, A37 5G, A56 5G or A57 5G and record more than the odd 4K clip; on our estimate, 10 minutes a month uses about 72GB over two years.
  • The gap is small enough to be insurance: the A55 5G (+£15.00), A35 5G (+£16.00), A06 and A07 (+£8.00 and +£13.00 for 128GB) and the A37 5G White listing (+£0.51, Open Box international stock).
  • You'll keep the phone into the 2030s: Samsung UK dates the A26 5G and A36 5G to 31 March 2031, the A17 5G to 31 August 2031 and the A37 5G and A57 5G to 31 March 2032.
  • You need both physical SIM slots for SIMs on a hybrid model without eSIM.

Choose 128GB instead when…

  • Your photos already sync to cloud storage and you clear old video now and then.
  • The model takes a card and you're happy to use one for media.
  • Support ends within about 18 months: around March 2027 for the A33 5G and A53 5G, and 31 March 2028 for the A34 5G, A35 5G, A54 5G and A55 5G.
  • The gap is out of proportion to the phone, which today means the A54 5G.

Who should not pay for 256GB: anyone buying an A53 5G as a stopgap, and anyone choosing the 256GB A54 5G before checking the 256GB A55 5G.

What the price gaps reveal

Read the 16 rows together and some prices stop making sense, in ways that save money.

The A54 5G's £60.00 jump

The refurbished Galaxy A54 5G costs £124.99 at 128GB and £184.99 at 256GB in Very Good, a £60.00 step. It's £64.00 at Excellent and £67.00 at Like New, and with 8GB of RAM on both sizes the whole premium buys storage: about 47p per extra gigabyte (£60.00 ÷ 128), against about 12p on the A55 5G (£15.00 ÷ 128).

The A55 5G 256GB costs only £10.00 more than the A54 5G 256GB

At 128GB the newer Galaxy A55 5G costs £55.00 more than the A54 5G (£179.99 − £124.99). At 256GB the difference shrinks to £10.00 (£194.99 − £184.99). For that £10.00 you get Samsung's higher-clocked processor (2.75GHz against 2.4GHz), a metal frame and a phone that launched one Android version later. Samsung UK shows 31 March 2028 for both (the A55's five-year promise would point to about March 2029; we use the earlier date). If you want an A54 with 256GB, the A55 is the better buy.

The A35 5G 256GB undercuts the older A34 5G 256GB

In Very Good, a 256GB A35 5G is £152.99 and a 256GB A34 5G is £157.99, so the newer phone is £5.00 cheaper (£157.99 − £152.99). The A35 adds eSIM on Samsung UK's specification and a 50MP main camera in place of 48MP. Both show 31 March 2028 on Samsung UK, with the same conflict for the A35.

Three phones at £194.99 with 256GB

The A17 5G, A26 5G and A55 5G all cost £194.99 at 256GB in Very Good, and all take a card. The A26 5G brings IP67, 120Hz and support to 31 March 2031; the A17 5G has IP54, 90Hz and support to 31 August 2031; the A55 5G adds a 1,000-nit screen and eSIM but runs only to 31 March 2028. For years of use per pound, the A26 5G wins.

The Galaxy A37 5G: 51p between sizes

The A37 5G is split across eight Open Box (Activated) listings. The four 128GB listings range from £273.48 to £278.99, and each offers Charcoal, Graygreen, Lavender and White. The cheapest 256GB, the 256GB White Galaxy A37 5G listing at £273.99, is £0.51 more than the cheapest 128GB and cheaper than two 128GB listings at £278.99. Other 256GB colours start at £283.00 (£9.52 more than the cheapest 128GB). The listings don't state RAM (Samsung UK pairs 128GB with 6GB and 256GB with 8GB), so ask if it matters. Unless you want a colour other than White, there's little reason to take 128GB. Like the A57, these are Open Box (Activated) international stock from the UAE or Europe: Samsung UK may not carry out warranty repairs on them, so The Tech Gadgets' 12-month warranty is your cover.

Shop Refurbished Galaxy A55 5GView Galaxy A37 5G 256GB White

Choose grade, storage and colour on the product page. The A37 5G is Open Box (Activated) international stock. Prices checked on 5 October 2026.

Galaxy A57 5G: should you buy 128GB or 256GB?

Buy the 256GB Galaxy A57 5G if you film video or plan to keep it for most of its support window, which Samsung UK dates to 31 March 2032, because it has no microSD slot. Choose 128GB if your photos live in the cloud and you'll upgrade within about three years. The gap was £50.00 at Open Box (Activated), with 8GB of RAM on both.

Who the Galaxy A57 5G suits

The A57 5G is the highest-specified A-series phone The Tech Gadgets lists: Samsung specifies the Exynos 1680, IP68, 45W wired charging, 4K video at 30fps, eSIM, and six Android upgrades with six years of security updates. Samsung announced it on 25 March 2026; UK sales began on 10 April 2026. About 5.5 years of support remain from October 2026 and capacity can't be added, so it suits someone who wants the strongest hardware here and will keep it, not a tight budget or anyone wanting a card slot.

What the extra £50.00 buys

The cheapest 128GB A57 5G is £278.99 and the cheapest 256GB is £328.99: £328.99 − £278.99 = £50.00, or about 39p per extra gigabyte. Both listings state 8GB of RAM, so the money buys storage only. On Samsung UK's figure of 300MB a minute for 4K, the extra 128GB could hold up to about seven hours of 4K video (128,000MB ÷ 300MB ≈ 427 minutes), or about 25,000 photos at its 5MB average. In practice it holds less, because apps, updates and other files share the space; Samsung's own whole-phone example pairs 60 minutes of UHD video with photos, music, apps and films. For a five-year owner who films family events, it still means clearing space far less often.

Limitations to accept

  • No microSD. Samsung UK's specification has no external-storage entry, and GSMArena lists no card slot.
  • Open Box (Activated), not sealed. Each phone has been set up and activated once, then factory reset, checked and signed out of all accounts. Two of the 128GB listings also show a Brand New option at £306.99 (checked 5 October 2026).
  • International stock (UAE or Europe). Box printing and the model code can differ from Samsung UK stock, and Samsung UK may not carry out manufacturer warranty repairs on non-UK units. The Tech Gadgets' own 12-month warranty covers it instead.
  • IP68 is a design specification. An opened phone can't be guaranteed to keep factory water resistance, and liquid damage isn't covered by the warranty.

Which A57 listing to choose

The four 128GB listings were all £278.99 in Open Box form, each offering Gray, Icyblue, Lilac and Navy; the Galaxy A57 5G 128GB Open Box listing is one of them. The 256GB listings differ sharply. One was £328.99 while three were £437.50, and all four describe the same 256GB with 8GB of RAM in the same four colours. That's £108.51 (£437.50 − £328.99) for no difference in the listing copy, so use the £328.99 listing below and ask the team if unsure.

Consider two alternatives. The 256GB White A37 5G at £273.99 costs £5.00 less than a 128GB A57, with the same 31 March 2032 Samsung UK date and IP68; you give up the Exynos 1680 (the A37 uses the Exynos 1480) and the 12MP ultra-wide (the A37 has 8MP). The Open Box A27 5G 256GB at £263.99 keeps a card slot and runs to 31 July 2032, with IP64 rather than IP68. Both are Open Box (Activated) international stock, with the same warranty position as the A57. For everything else, see our full Galaxy A57 5G buying guide and the Galaxy A57 5G price and stock round-up.

Samsung Galaxy A57 5G, Open Box (Activated), international stock

128GB from £278.99; 256GB from £328.99 on the listing below (prices checked 5 October 2026). 8GB RAM stated on both. No microSD slot.

  • Set up once, factory reset and checked; not sold as sealed
  • 12-month warranty from The Tech Gadgets (excludes accidental and liquid damage)
  • Same-day dispatch from Manchester on weekday orders placed by 3pm

Condition, RAM and what to check when the phone arrives

Pick the grade for looks and the size for use. On the refurbished listings, Like New, Excellent and Very Good each come with at least 85% battery health at dispatch; see how The Tech Gadgets tests and grades refurbished phones. That percentage describes the individual phone's battery, which is separate from Samsung's 5,000mAh capacity figure. The A16 4G, A16 5G, A17 5G, A26 5G, A36 5G and A56 5G listings also show a Fair option; the grading page doesn't define it, so ask the team about its condition before ordering.

Every Galaxy A phone here, whatever its condition, is international stock. Box printing and the model code may differ from UK units, and Samsung UK may not carry out manufacturer warranty repairs on non-UK units, so The Tech Gadgets' own 12-month warranty is the cover. If you rely on Wi-Fi Calling or 4G Calling (VoLTE) on a particular network, ask the team before ordering. The Galaxy A06, A06 5G, A07 and A07 5G are brand new and sealed, sold unlocked for UK networks, though Samsung doesn't list these models on its UK website. The A27 5G, A37 5G and A57 5G are Open Box (Activated), as described in the A37 and A57 sections.

Before setting the phone up, check the box and label match the storage you ordered; once it's on, confirm storage, RAM and model code under About phone in Settings. A mismatch is an incorrect item, not a change of mind. Format any card in the phone itself. Don't rely on an IP rating on a refurbished or opened phone: seals can age or be disturbed by repair, and liquid damage isn't covered by the warranty.

Buying your Galaxy A from The Tech Gadgets

Picked the wrong size? Change-of-mind returns run for 30 days only if the phone is unused and complete (you pay return postage), so settle the storage question before you set it up; your 14-day right to cancel also applies. Refurbished and Open Box phones carry a 12-month warranty from The Tech Gadgets, starting on delivery, covering faults that develop in normal use (not accidental or liquid damage); for Brand New items, the product page and returns policy list a 12-month warranty from The Tech Gadgets. The warranty policy lists battery defects and reduced capacity as exclusions, but a faulty battery within 30 days is still covered by your Consumer Rights Act right to reject. The returns and warranty policy has the detail.

Orders placed by 3pm Monday to Friday are dispatched the same day from Manchester, and standard delivery takes 1–3 working days, free over £50. Browse all Samsung Galaxy phones in stock, or the Open Box Galaxy A27, A37 and A57 listings separately.

Galaxy A storage questions answered

Is 128GB enough on the Samsung Galaxy A16?

For most owners, yes. The Galaxy A16 4G and A16 5G both take a microSD card up to 1.5TB, so photos and video can move off internal storage. The catch is the hybrid slot: neither lists eSIM on Samsung UK's specification, so a card replaces a second SIM. If you need two SIMs, the 256GB A16 4G is £18.00 more in Very Good (£118.99 − £100.99).

Does the 256GB Galaxy A54 5G have more RAM than the 128GB?

Not according to the listing, which gives 8GB for both, so its £60.00 Very Good gap pays for storage alone. Samsung UK's configurations do pair more RAM with 256GB on other models, including the A34 5G and A37 5G. Where a listing says RAM varies by unit, message the team before ordering.

Should I buy the Galaxy A55 5G 256GB or the Galaxy A54 5G 256GB?

The A55 5G, in most cases. In Very Good the 256GB A55 is £194.99 against £184.99 for the 256GB A54, a £10.00 difference for the newer phone with the higher-clocked processor and metal frame. Samsung UK shows 31 March 2028 for both. Choose the A54 only if that £10.00 really matters.

Is the Samsung Galaxy A35 5G 128GB enough?

With a card or cloud backup, yes. The Galaxy A35 5G takes a microSD card up to 1TB and supports eSIM, which may let you keep a second line alongside a card (check with the team if that matters). The 256GB version is only £16.00 more in Very Good (£152.99 − £136.99), so regular filmers should take it. Samsung UK's security date is 31 March 2028.

What storage does the Galaxy A53 5G have?

Samsung UK sold the Galaxy A53 5G with 6GB of RAM and 128GB. The Tech Gadgets also lists 256GB, £18.00 more in Very Good (RAM given as 6GB or 8GB), and it takes a hybrid microSD card up to 1TB. With support running to about March 2027, 128GB plus a card is the sensible choice.

Does 256GB make a phone last longer?

Only in that you won't run out of room. Security updates are set per model, not per storage size: a 256GB Galaxy A53 5G still loses support around March 2027, while a 128GB A26 5G is covered to 31 March 2031. Choose the model for its support window first.

Verdict: the storage to buy on each kind of Galaxy A

On the four models without a card slot, buy 256GB unless you're certain you won't film or download much: the A37 5G White listing makes that almost free, and on the A57 5G the £328.99 listing keeps the premium to £50.00 (both are Open Box international stock covered by The Tech Gadgets' 12-month warranty). On models with a card slot, 128GB is enough for most people, with two exceptions where 256GB costs too little to skip, the A55 5G (+£15.00) and A35 5G (+£16.00). Skip the 256GB A54 5G at its current gap, because the 256GB A55 5G is only £10.00 more.

Extra space won't extend a phone whose updates end in 2027 or 2028. For long-term ownership with a card slot, the A26 5G at 256GB (£194.99, Very Good) is the steadiest pick.

Shop Refurbished Galaxy A26 5GBuy Galaxy A57 5G 256GB: Choose Your Colour

Prices were checked on 5 October 2026 and can change. Condition and colour are chosen on the product page.

Back to blog