Apple UK lineup checked: 10 September 2026. Check each product page for today's price and stock.
Which AirPods Should You Buy in 2026?
The right AirPods depend on three questions, in this order: do you want an open, tip-free fit or a sealed in-ear/over-ear design; do you need Active Noise Cancellation; and is your budget for brand-new Apple pricing or The Tech Gadgets' refurbished Pristine Condition range? Answer those and the shortlist narrows fast.
- Want the newest Apple earbuds, brand new, from Apple: AirPods 5 or AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case — both now include Active Noise Cancellation, which older open-fit AirPods never had.
- Want the strongest ANC and the most features, brand new: AirPods Pro 3 or AirPods Max 2, Apple's current in-ear and over-ear flagships.
- Want genuine Apple audio at the lowest possible price, refurbished: The Tech Gadgets' Apple AirPods (2nd Gen) Pristine Condition, the lowest-priced AirPods in the range.
- Want strong ANC at a mid-range refurbished price: The Tech Gadgets' Apple AirPods Pro (2nd Gen) Pristine Condition, or the newer Apple AirPods Pro (3rd Gen) Pristine Condition — currently cheaper than buying the same generation new from Apple.
One important correction to older advice you may have seen, including on this page previously: AirPods 4 is no longer Apple's newest open-fit AirPods, and it is no longer the only open-fit model with ANC — AirPods 5 replaces it on both counts. Apple's current UK AirPods overview page lists only AirPods 5, AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case, AirPods Pro 3 and AirPods Max 2 as active models; the dedicated AirPods 4 product page no longer offers it for purchase, referencing the "AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation" name only in a comparison footnote. Treat AirPods 4 as a model Apple has moved on from, not a current flagship.
Current Apple UK AirPods Lineup
| Model | Design | ANC | Chip | Battery (ANC on) | Key Feature | The Tech Gadgets Stock |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AirPods 5 | Open-ear | Yes | H2 | Up to 4 hrs | 50% more ANC than AirPods 4 ANC, per Apple | Not currently stocked |
| AirPods 5 Wireless Charging Case | Open-ear | Yes | H2 | Up to 5 hrs | Wireless charging case, volume swipe | Not currently stocked |
| AirPods Pro 3 | Sealed in-ear | Yes | H2 | Up to 8 hrs | Heart rate sensor, IP57 | Pristine Condition |
| AirPods Max 2 | Over-ear | Yes | H2 | Up to 20 hrs | Lossless audio via USB-C, 1.5x more ANC than original Max | Not currently stocked (store sells the older 2024 USB-C refresh instead — not the same product) |
Apple UK lineup checked 10 September 2026 against Apple's official Store pages. AirPods 4 and AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation are omitted from this table because Apple's current UK AirPods pages no longer list them as purchasable new — see "Are AirPods 4 Still Worth Buying After AirPods 5?" below.
How Much Do AirPods Cost in the UK?
Two separate kinds of price apply — do not mix them: what Apple charges for a brand-new unit today, and what The Tech Gadgets charges for a used, professionally tested Pristine Condition unit.
Apple UK pricing is Apple's own retail price for a new device; The Tech Gadgets pricing is for a used, single-grade Pristine Condition unit. These prices change, so we don't list them here — always confirm on the live product page before ordering.
Important: refurbished is not automatically cheaper. At the time of writing, The Tech Gadgets' Pristine Condition AirPods (4th Gen) and AirPods (4th Gen) ANC both cost more than a brand-new AirPods 5 — an older, discontinued-from-Apple model priced above Apple's current entry-level new earbuds. We flag this directly in the sections below rather than describing these listings as automatic bargains.
AirPods 5: What's New?
Apple's AirPods 5 launch, announced 9 September 2026, brings Active Noise Cancellation to Apple's standard open-fit AirPods for the first time on both variants. Apple states AirPods 5 delivers 50% more noise reduction than AirPods 4 with ANC — a direct Apple comparison, not an independent lab result — alongside Adaptive Audio that automatically blends ANC and Transparency mode based on your surroundings, and an improved Transparency mode. Both variants run Apple's H2 chip, support Live Translation and the newly announced Siri AI, and use a USB-C charging case; the Wireless Charging Case version adds wireless charging for the case itself, a volume swipe control on the stem, and a longer 5-hour ANC battery figure versus 4 hours on the standard case. AirPods 5 is available to pre-order now, with general availability from 18 September 2026.
AirPods 5 vs AirPods 4
| Feature | AirPods 5 | AirPods 4 |
|---|---|---|
| ANC | Yes | No |
| Chip | H2 | H2 |
| Live Translation | Yes | Not confirmed on current Apple pages for the non-ANC model |
| Siri AI | Yes (beta, rolling out with iOS 27) | Not specified as current on Apple's AirPods 5 page |
| Battery | Up to 4 hrs (ANC on) | Up to 5 hrs (no ANC) |
| Charging case | USB-C | USB-C |
| Fit | Open-ear | Open-ear |
| Current availability | Pre-order now, ships 18 Sept | No longer sold new by Apple; The Tech Gadgets sells a used Pristine Condition unit |
The honest comparison here is simple: AirPods 5 adds Active Noise Cancellation, Live Translation and Siri AI over AirPods 4, at the same price Apple originally charged for AirPods 4 alone. At current prices, there's no scenario where buying a used AirPods 4 makes more sense than a brand-new AirPods 5, unless you specifically want the very slightly longer 5-hour non-ANC battery figure and nothing else.
AirPods 5 vs AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation
This is the more relevant comparison for ANC buyers. Apple states AirPods 5 delivers 50% more noise reduction than AirPods 4 with ANC, on the same H2 chip platform, with the addition of Siri AI and (per Apple's current wording) Live Translation support. AirPods 4 ANC was previously sold new direct from Apple; it's no longer listed for sale on Apple's current UK AirPods pages. The Tech Gadgets currently lists a used Pristine Condition AirPods (4th Gen) ANC that costs slightly more than a brand-new AirPods 5 with stronger ANC, Live Translation and Siri AI. If ANC strength and the newest features matter to you, the value case for the older, used AirPods 4 ANC over a new AirPods 5 is weak at current prices; it's currently priced against a brand-new phone with better specs, not against a cheaper alternative.
AirPods 5 vs AirPods 5 Wireless Charging Case: Which Version Should You Buy?
Both AirPods 5 variants have identical Active Noise Cancellation, Adaptive Audio, Live Translation and Siri AI support, per Apple's UK specification — the difference is entirely in the charging case and battery figures.
| Feature | AirPods 5 | AirPods 5 Wireless Charging Case |
|---|---|---|
| Battery with ANC | Up to 4 hrs | Up to 5 hrs |
| Total with case | Not specified as 22 hrs on Apple's standard-case listing | Up to 22 hrs |
| Case charging | USB-C only | USB-C plus Qi/MagSafe wireless charging |
| Volume swipe control | Not included | Included |
| Find My speaker in case | Not specified | Included |
Choose the Wireless Charging Case version if you already use Qi or MagSafe chargers around your home or car and want to drop the case on a pad rather than plug in a cable, or if the stem-based volume swipe and Find My speaker genuinely matter to you. Choose the standard version if you're happy plugging in USB-C and don't need wireless charging — the earbuds themselves are otherwise identical.
AirPods 5 vs AirPods Pro 3
This is the widest practical price gap in Apple's current lineup, so it's worth being precise about what the extra money buys.
| Feature | AirPods 5 | AirPods Pro 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Fit | Open-ear, no tips | Sealed in-ear, 5 foam-infused tip sizes |
| ANC | Yes, open-ear ANC | Yes, sealed-tip ANC — stronger isolation from the physical seal alone |
| Battery with ANC | Up to 4–5 hrs | Up to 8 hrs |
| Heart rate sensing | No | Yes, via Fitness app on compatible iPhone |
| Hearing features | No | Hearing Test/Aid/Protection, regulated and region-dependent |
| Water resistance | Not specified at IP rating level | IP57 |
Choose AirPods 5 for open-ear comfort, a lower price, and genuine ANC that's new to this tier. Choose AirPods Pro 3 if you want a sealed fit for stronger physical noise isolation, nearly double the ANC battery life, workout heart-rate tracking, or the regulated hearing features — and note that The Tech Gadgets' refurbished Pro 3 currently undercuts Apple's new price for the same current generation.
AirPods (4th Gen) vs AirPods (4th Gen) with ANC
The Tech Gadgets currently lists both the Apple AirPods (4th Gen) Pristine Condition and the Apple AirPods (4th Gen) ANC Pristine Condition — at the time of writing the ANC version is priced lower than the non-ANC version, so check both listings rather than assuming the ANC model costs more. Both share the same H2 chip, USB-C charging case and IP54 resistance rating; the ANC model adds Active Noise Cancellation, Adaptive Audio and Transparency mode, at the cost of a shorter 4-hour (versus 5-hour) earbud battery figure with ANC engaged. Neither model is currently sold new by Apple — both are only available here as used Pristine Condition stock.
Are AirPods 4 Still Worth Buying After AirPods 5?
For most buyers, no — not at current prices. Apple's own current UK AirPods pages no longer list AirPods 4 or AirPods 4 with ANC for sale; AirPods 5 has replaced both at the same entry price point while adding Active Noise Cancellation to the standard model, plus Live Translation and Siri AI. The Tech Gadgets' used Pristine Condition AirPods (4th Gen) costs more than a brand-new AirPods 5 with more features; the used AirPods (4th Gen) ANC costs slightly more than a brand-new AirPods 5 with stronger ANC. The only scenario where AirPods 4 remains a reasonable pick is if a specific unit's price drops meaningfully below AirPods 5's new price, since at parity or above, AirPods 5 is simply the newer, better-specified product at the same or lower Apple-original price point.
AirPods 3 vs AirPods 4 vs AirPods 5
| Spec | AirPods 3 | AirPods 4 | AirPods 5 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chip | H1 | H2 | H2 |
| ANC | No | No (ANC variant available separately) | Yes, on both variants |
| Charging connector | Lightning (MagSafe/Qi case) | USB-C | USB-C |
| Spatial Audio | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Water resistance | IPX4 | IP54 | Not confirmed at IP-rating level on Apple's current page |
All three are open-ear, tip-free designs. AirPods 3 and 4 share no ANC on the standard model; AirPods 5 is the first standard-tier generation with ANC built in from the start. At current store pricing, both AirPods 3 and AirPods 4 cost more than a brand-new AirPods 5 — worth factoring in before choosing an older generation purely by price.
Are AirPods 2 Still Worth Buying in 2026?
In Pristine Condition, the Apple AirPods (2nd Gen) remains the cheapest genuine route into Apple's earbuds ecosystem, and that price point is genuinely hard to beat for basic calls, podcasts and everyday listening. It's an old design by 2026 standards: no Active Noise Cancellation, no Spatial Audio, no IP water resistance rating, an older H1 chip, and a Lightning (not USB-C) charging case. As with any refurbished unit, the individual pair's remaining battery health isn't separately documented — see the battery section below. It's worth buying only if your priority is genuinely the lowest possible price for basic Apple earbuds function, not if you want any of the features every newer generation adds.
AirPods 2 vs AirPods 3
The Apple AirPods (3rd Gen) adds Spatial Audio, a shorter contoured stem, force-sensor controls, Apple's Adaptive EQ and IPX4 sweat resistance over the Apple AirPods (2nd Gen) — none of which the 2nd Gen has. The extra cost buys a meaningfully more modern earbud, but the 2nd Gen remains the budget pick if those specific features don't matter to you.
AirPods 3 vs AirPods 4
Both are currently the same price in Pristine Condition at The Tech Gadgets. AirPods 4 is the newer design with a reshaped stem, Apple's H2 chip (versus H1 on AirPods 3), USB-C charging (versus Lightning-based MagSafe/Qi case), and a slightly higher IP54 rating versus IPX4. At equal store pricing, AirPods 4 is the more modern pick unless you specifically need the MagSafe-case form factor of AirPods 3.
AirPods Pro 2 vs AirPods Pro 3
This is one of the most useful comparisons in this guide, since both remain genuinely current, in-stock refurbished options at The Tech Gadgets.
| Feature | AirPods Pro (2nd Gen) | AirPods Pro 3 |
|---|---|---|
| ANC | Yes | Yes, Apple states significantly improved over Pro 2 |
| Battery with ANC | Up to 6 hrs | Up to 8 hrs |
| Ear tip sizes | 4 (silicone) | 5 (foam-infused) |
| Heart rate sensor | No | Yes |
| Water resistance | IP54 | IP57 |
| Live Translation | Not offered | Yes, on compatible iPhone |
Is Pro 3 worth paying more for at The Tech Gadgets? If the heart rate sensor, two extra hours of ANC battery life, the higher IP57 rating or Live Translation matter to you, yes — the extra is a small premium for a meaningfully newer feature set, and the refurbished Pro 3 still undercuts Apple's own new price for the same Pro 3 generation. If you mainly want dependable, strong ANC without fitness tracking, the Apple AirPods Pro (2nd Gen) remains genuinely good value.
Are AirPods Pro 2 Still Worth Buying?
Yes, conditionally. The Apple AirPods Pro (2nd Gen) is cheaper than the Pro 3 at The Tech Gadgets and cheaper than Apple's new Pro 3 price, while keeping the same H2 chip, USB-C/MagSafe/Qi charging case, and genuinely strong ANC. It remains compelling specifically because that price gap is real money for buyers who don't need Pro 3's heart rate sensor, higher IP rating or Live Translation. If any of those three features matter, Pro 3 is the better buy at either price.
AirPods Pro 3: Who Should Buy Them?
AirPods Pro 3 suits commuters and frequent travellers who want Apple's strongest current ANC in a sealed fit, workout users who want heart rate data logged to the Fitness app without a separate wearable, and anyone who specifically wants the regulated hearing features Apple offers on this generation. On health features specifically: Apple describes Hearing Test, Hearing Aid and Hearing Protection as regulated health features with availability that varies by region, and the heart rate sensor is positioned for fitness tracking via the Fitness app — none of this is presented by Apple as a medical diagnostic device, and neither are we. If you need a genuine hearing aid or have a diagnosed hearing condition, treat these as consumer features to discuss with a qualified professional, not a medical replacement.
AirPods Pro vs Regular AirPods: What's the Difference?
The core distinction is fit. Regular AirPods (2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th generation) use an open, tip-free design that sits in the outer ear without sealing the ear canal — comfortable for long wear, but offering only passive noise blocking (plus, on AirPods 4 ANC and AirPods 5, genuine electronic Active Noise Cancellation layered on top of that open fit). AirPods Pro models use silicone or foam-infused ear tips in multiple sizes to create a sealed fit, which blocks more ambient sound purely through physical isolation before any electronic ANC is applied, and unlocks Pro-specific features like heart rate sensing (Pro 3) and higher IP water resistance ratings. If you dislike the sensation of tips in your ear canal, no Pro model will suit you regardless of its ANC strength — that's a fit preference AirPods 5's open-ear ANC exists specifically to address.
AirPods Max vs AirPods Max 2
These are two different generations, and confusing them risks ordering the wrong product.
| Feature | AirPods Max (2024 USB-C refresh) | AirPods Max 2 |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | The original 2020 AirPods Max with its charging connector updated from Lightning to USB-C in 2024 — same core hardware otherwise | A genuinely new, distinct generation announced by Apple in 2026 |
| Chip | H1 (one per ear cup) | H2 |
| ANC | Active Noise Cancellation | Up to 1.5x more Active Noise Cancellation than the original, per Apple |
| Lossless audio via USB-C | Not supported | Supported, with ultra-low-latency wired audio |
| Live Translation | Not supported | Supported on compatible iPhone with iOS 26.4+ |
| Colours | Original AirPods Max colour range | Blue, Purple, Midnight, Starlight, Orange |
Is the 2024 USB-C AirPods Max the Same as AirPods Max 2?
No. The 2024 refresh was a connector update to the original AirPods Max — Lightning swapped for USB-C, with the same H1 chip and the same core acoustic hardware as the 2020 original. AirPods Max 2, announced separately by Apple in 2026, is a distinct generation with the newer H2 chip, stronger ANC, lossless wired audio over USB-C, Live Translation support and a new colour range. The Tech Gadgets currently sells the 2024 USB-C refresh, correctly labelled as such on its product page — not AirPods Max 2, which the store does not currently stock. If you specifically want AirPods Max 2's H2 chip, lossless audio or Live Translation, the 2024 refresh will not give you those features regardless of price.
AirPods Max 2 vs AirPods Pro 3
Both are Apple's current flagships in their respective form factors; The Tech Gadgets currently stocks AirPods Pro 3 in Pristine Condition but not AirPods Max 2, so the Max 2 side of this comparison is for new-purchase planning rather than a refurbished decision. AirPods Max 2 is an over-ear headphone: heavier and far less portable than any earbud, but with the largest drivers, the longest battery life (up to 20 hours with ANC) and lossless wired audio via USB-C when connected to compatible sources. AirPods Pro 3 is a sealed in-ear earbud: far more portable for a bag or pocket, with heart rate sensing and hearing features AirPods Max 2 doesn't offer, at a much lower price. Neither is objectively better — over-ear versus in-ear is a comfort and portability trade-off as much as a spec comparison, and long-haul travellers or home office workers who prioritise comfort over portability may prefer Max 2, while commuters, gym users and anyone who needs a pocketable earbud will likely prefer Pro 3.
Which AirPods Have Active Noise Cancellation?
| Model | ANC |
|---|---|
| AirPods (1st, 2nd, 3rd Gen) | No |
| AirPods (4th Gen) | No |
| AirPods (4th Gen) with ANC | Yes |
| AirPods 5 (both variants) | Yes |
| AirPods Pro (1st, 2nd Gen) | Yes |
| AirPods Pro 3 | Yes |
| AirPods Max (all generations) | Yes |
Which AirPods Have the Best Noise Cancellation?
Based on Apple's own comparative statements — not independent lab testing, which we haven't seen published for these specific current models — AirPods Max 2 offers "up to 1.5x more" ANC than the original AirPods Max, AirPods Pro 3's ANC is described by Apple as "significantly improved" over AirPods Pro 2, and AirPods 5 delivers "50% more" noise reduction than AirPods 4 with ANC. Across form factors, a sealed design (Pro or Max) will typically block more ambient sound than an open-ear design (AirPods 5) simply through physical isolation, before any electronic ANC is even applied — so if maximum noise blocking is your priority, a Pro or Max model is the more reliable choice regardless of the specific percentage Apple quotes for any single generation.
Open-Ear vs In-Ear vs Over-Ear AirPods
| Category | Models | Comfort | Isolation | Portability |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open-ear | AirPods 2/3/4/5 | No tips to insert; comfortable for many for long wear | Lower passive isolation; ANC on 4 ANC/5 helps but won't match a sealed fit | Highest — smallest case |
| Sealed in-ear | AirPods Pro range | Depends on finding the right tip size; can feel intrusive to some | Highest isolation for an earbud form factor | High — small case |
| Over-ear | AirPods Max range | Full ear-cup comfort for long sessions; heavier on the head | Strongest overall isolation, cups plus ANC | Lowest — largest, heaviest to carry |
Fit is genuinely personal — ear shape, sensitivity to in-ear pressure, and how long you wear earbuds in one sitting all matter more than any spec sheet. If you've disliked sealed tips before, don't assume AirPods Pro is your answer just because it has stronger ANC; AirPods 5's open-ear ANC exists specifically for that situation.
Which AirPods Are Best for iPhone?
Any current AirPods model pairs instantly with iPhone via iCloud, switches automatically between your Apple ID-linked devices, and supports Siri, Find My and Spatial Audio where the specific generation offers it. AirPods 5 and AirPods Pro 3 add Live Translation and (AirPods 5) Siri AI, both of which require a compatible, Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone running a current iOS version — check Apple's current iPhone compatibility list before assuming an older iPhone supports every feature.
Which AirPods Work With Android?
All AirPods models pair with Android phones over standard Bluetooth for music playback and calls. What doesn't carry over is Apple's ecosystem layer: automatic device switching, Siri, Spatial Audio head tracking, Live Translation, Find My integration and firmware update prompts are all tied to iOS/Apple ID and are not available on Android, regardless of which AirPods generation you own. Don't buy AirPods for Android expecting the full feature set shown on Apple's marketing pages — you're buying a capable Bluetooth headset, not the full ecosystem experience.
Best AirPods for Calls
Every current generation includes Apple's Voice Isolation processing to reduce background noise on calls, and the Pro range's sealed fit typically keeps the microphone array positioned more consistently than an open-ear design. We haven't seen independently verified call-quality rankings across every specific generation covered here, so rather than declare a single winner, the practical guidance is: any current-generation model handles calls competently, and a Pro model in a noisy environment (street, café, open-plan office) is the safer choice for the person on the other end of the call.
Best AirPods for Commuting and Travel
For commuting and flights, ANC matters most. AirPods Pro 3 or AirPods Pro (2nd Gen) give the strongest sealed-fit isolation plus electronic ANC; AirPods Max 2 or the store's AirPods Max (2024 refresh) suit anyone who prefers over-ear comfort for long journeys and doesn't mind the larger case. If you dislike sealed tips, AirPods 5 is the only open-ear model with genuine ANC and remains far more pocketable than any Pro or Max option.
Best AirPods for Running and the Gym
Fit security and water resistance matter most here. AirPods Pro 3's IP57 rating is the highest water/dust resistance figure in this line-up, and it's the only model with a built-in heart rate sensor for logging workouts to the Fitness app. AirPods (3rd Gen) at IPX4 is a lower-cost sweat-resistant alternative if you don't need heart rate tracking. None of these are rated waterproof — IP57 and IPX4 describe resistance to sweat, splashes and limited water exposure under specific test conditions, not full submersion or swimming use.
Best AirPods for Long Flights
Battery life and ANC strength both matter on long-haul flights. AirPods Max 2 and the store's AirPods Max both specify up to 20 hours with ANC engaged — the longest single-charge figure in this line-up — and the over-ear design blocks more cabin noise than any earbud through the cup seal alone. If you'd rather travel with a smaller case, AirPods Pro 3's 8-hour ANC figure and sealed tips are the best earbud-format alternative.
Which AirPods Have the Longest Battery Life?
| Model | Battery with ANC (new unit) |
|---|---|
| AirPods Max 2 / AirPods Max | Up to 20 hrs |
| AirPods Pro 3 | Up to 8 hrs |
| AirPods Pro (2nd Gen) | Up to 6 hrs |
| AirPods 5 (Wireless Charging Case) | Up to 5 hrs |
| AirPods 5 (standard) | Up to 4 hrs |
| AirPods (4th Gen) ANC | Up to 4 hrs |
These are Apple's published figures for brand-new units under Apple's own test conditions. They do not describe the remaining battery capacity of any specific used or refurbished pair — see "What Battery Condition Do Refurbished AirPods Have?" below before assuming a Pristine Condition unit will match these figures exactly.
Which AirPods Use USB-C?
| Model | Case connector | Wireless charging |
|---|---|---|
| AirPods (2nd Gen) | Lightning | No |
| AirPods (3rd Gen) | Lightning | MagSafe/Qi |
| AirPods (4th Gen) / ANC | USB-C | Qi/MagSafe (ANC model) |
| AirPods 5 | USB-C | No (standard case) |
| AirPods 5 Wireless Charging Case | USB-C | Qi/MagSafe |
| AirPods Pro (2nd Gen) / Pro 3 | USB-C | MagSafe/Qi |
| AirPods Max (2024 refresh) / Max 2 | USB-C | Not specified |
Which AirPods Support Live Translation?
Apple states Live Translation is available across its current AirPods lineup, including AirPods 5, AirPods Pro 3 and AirPods Max 2 — a broader rollout than earlier reporting suggested, and a correction to any claim that Pro 3 is the only model with this feature. In every case, Live Translation requires an Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone running a current iOS version (iOS 26 or later for Pro 3; iOS 26.4 or later specified for Max 2), the latest AirPods firmware, and works only in Apple's currently supported languages and regions. Do not assume Live Translation works with every iPhone, in every country, or in every language — check Apple's current feature-availability page for your specific device and region before relying on it.
Which AirPods Support Siri AI?
Siri AI is rolling out in beta alongside iOS 27, from 14 September 2026, and Apple's AirPods 5 page lists Siri AI as a supported feature. At launch, Apple has stated Siri AI is initially available in English only, with French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish support following in October, and the feature is not available to users under 13. Treat Siri AI as a new, actively rolling-out feature rather than a fully mature, globally available one at this stage.
Which AirPods Track Heart Rate?
Only AirPods Pro 3 currently includes a built-in heart rate sensor, which Apple positions for workout tracking via the Fitness app and compatible third-party fitness apps on a current iPhone. No other current or past AirPods generation has this feature. Apple does not present this as a medical-grade or diagnostic device, and neither do we — treat it as a fitness feature, not a substitute for medical heart monitoring equipment.
Which AirPods Have Hearing Aid Features?
AirPods Pro 3 is the current generation Apple associates with Hearing Test, Hearing Aid and Hearing Protection features. Apple describes these as regulated health features, with availability that varies by region and requires a compatible, updated iPhone or iPad. We are not able to confirm exact current UK regulatory availability for every specific feature at the time of writing — if you are considering AirPods Pro 3 specifically for hearing support, check Apple's current UK feature-availability documentation and consider speaking to a hearing professional, since these are consumer features, not a diagnosis or a replacement for professional hearing care.
Are Refurbished AirPods Worth Buying?
Sometimes — it depends entirely on the specific model and current price, not on refurbished status alone. The Tech Gadgets' AirPods Pro (3rd Gen) is currently cheaper than Apple's new price for the same generation, which is a straightforwardly good deal. By contrast, the store's AirPods (4th Gen) and AirPods (4th Gen) ANC both currently cost more than a brand-new AirPods 5 with better features — in those specific cases, buying refurbished is not the cheaper or better-value option right now. Always check the current new price of the closest equivalent or successor model before assuming a used listing is automatically the bargain.
New AirPods vs Refurbished AirPods
| New (Apple) | Refurbished / Pristine (The Tech Gadgets) | |
|---|---|---|
| Battery condition | New, matches Apple's published figures | Used; remaining capacity not separately documented per unit |
| Generation availability | Current generation only (older models discontinued) | Mix of current and older generations, subject to stock |
| Packaging/accessories | Full Apple retail packaging | Varies; cable/spare tips/Smart Case not confirmed on every listing |
| Warranty | Apple's own manufacturer warranty terms | The Tech Gadgets' own 12-month warranty, different terms — see below |
| Price | Fixed current RRP | Can be lower, equal to, or higher than current Apple new pricing — check both before buying |
These are not identical warranties or identical purchase contexts — treat "new" and "refurbished" as two different products with different trade-offs, not simply the same item at two price points.
How to Check Genuine AirPods Before Buying
A serial number alone does not prove AirPods are genuine — serial numbers and model identifiers can be copied onto counterfeit packaging or units. Use several signals together instead:
- Device recognition: genuine AirPods trigger Apple's official pop-up pairing animation when opened near an iPhone signed into iCloud, showing the correct model name and battery levels for each earbud and the case.
- Find My behaviour: genuine AirPods with supported hardware appear correctly in the Find My app under the right model name.
- Physical build quality: check weight, finish, and printed text on the case for anything that looks inconsistent with official Apple product photography — though this alone is not conclusive, since counterfeits have improved.
- Seller reputation and paperwork: buy from a seller who documents condition, provides a clear returns process, and offers a real warranty — a genuine retailer has more to lose from selling counterfeit stock than an anonymous marketplace listing.
- Realistic pricing: a price dramatically below every other listing for the same current model is a signal to slow down and verify further, not necessarily proof of a fake, but worth extra scrutiny.
No single check is definitive on its own — genuine device recognition plus a trustworthy seller with a real warranty and return policy together give you the strongest practical protection.
What Does Pristine Condition Mean at The Tech Gadgets?
Every AirPods listing at The Tech Gadgets uses a single used/refurbished grade called Pristine Condition, rather than the four-tier Like New/Excellent/Very Good/Fair scale used for some other refurbished products on the site. Each product page describes Pristine Condition units as used, professionally tested and cleaned to a like-new standard. The listings do not publish a detailed inspection checklist, a specific number of test points, or confirm whether ear tips are replaced with new ones — where information isn't confirmed on the product page, we've said so directly in this guide rather than assuming a more elaborate process than what's documented.
What Battery Condition Do Refurbished AirPods Have?
Not separately documented per unit, based on the current product listings. None of The Tech Gadgets' seven AirPods listings publish a battery health percentage, confirm a replaced or new battery, or guarantee that a Pristine Condition unit will match Apple's original published battery-life figures for that generation. Apple's battery specifications describe new-device performance under Apple's own test conditions — they do not describe the remaining capacity of any individual used pair. If battery longevity is important to your decision, this is worth asking The Tech Gadgets directly before ordering, since it isn't stated on the listings themselves.
What Comes With Refurbished AirPods?
| Model | Earbuds/Headphones | Case | Charging Cable | Spare Tips | Smart Case |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AirPods (2nd Gen) | Confirmed | Confirmed | Not confirmed | N/A (no tips) | N/A |
| AirPods (3rd Gen) | Confirmed | Confirmed | Not confirmed | N/A (no tips) | N/A |
| AirPods (4th Gen) / ANC | Confirmed | Confirmed | Not confirmed | N/A (no tips) | N/A |
| AirPods Pro (2nd Gen) | Confirmed | Confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed beyond fitted pair | N/A |
| AirPods Pro (3rd Gen) | Confirmed | Confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed beyond fitted pair | N/A |
| AirPods Max (2024 refresh) | Confirmed | N/A | Not confirmed | N/A | Not confirmed |
Where a column says "not confirmed," that's exactly what it means — the product page doesn't state either way, so ask The Tech Gadgets directly before ordering if a cable, spare tips or the Smart Case matter to your decision.
What Warranty Comes With Refurbished AirPods?
Every AirPods listing at The Tech Gadgets carries a 12-month warranty covering manufacturing defects and functional faults. It excludes battery wear/health issues, physical damage, and water damage — so a pair that develops reduced battery life over time, gets dropped, or suffers water exposure is not covered under this warranty, only genuine manufacturing or functional defects are.
Can You Return Refurbished AirPods?
Yes — The Tech Gadgets' published returns policy states a 30-day return window from delivery, applied uniformly across product categories, and does not document any special hygiene exclusion or restriction specific to earbuds or headphones on the pages we checked. That said, in-ear products carry general hygiene considerations that any buyer should use good judgement about regardless of the retailer's specific written policy, and UK consumer law provides its own separate protections around faulty goods beyond any retailer's own return window. If a hygiene-specific restriction exists that isn't published on the policy page, we haven't been able to confirm it — check directly with The Tech Gadgets before assuming any product-specific exception.
Where to Buy Refurbished AirPods in the UK
Before ordering refurbished AirPods anywhere, confirm: the exact generation and variant (ANC or not), fit type (open, sealed or over-ear), charging connector, case type, condition grade, whether battery health is documented, what accessories are actually included, the warranty terms, the return window, current price, and current stock. The Tech Gadgets meets these basics: it publishes a single Pristine Condition grade, a 12-month warranty (with stated battery/physical/water exclusions), a 30-day return window, and live current pricing on each product page, from a Manchester-based UK business. We have not verified that The Tech Gadgets holds any formal Apple authorisation or "Apple authorised retailer" status, and we're not claiming it does — it's an independent UK refurbisher and retailer, which is a different thing.
The Tech Gadgets AirPods Buying Match
- If lowest price matters: AirPods (2nd Gen) is the cheapest current listing.
- If open-ear comfort matters, no ANC needed: compare AirPods (3rd Gen) and (4th Gen), currently the same price, and weigh USB-C/H2 (4th Gen) against the MagSafe case shape (3rd Gen) — but also compare against a brand-new AirPods 5.
- If open-ear ANC matters: AirPods (4th Gen) ANC is the only in-stock open-ear ANC option, though a new AirPods 5 currently undercuts it with stronger ANC.
- If strong sealed ANC matters: compare AirPods Pro (2nd Gen) and AirPods Pro (3rd Gen).
- If fitness tracking matters: AirPods Pro (3rd Gen) is the only in-stock model with a heart rate sensor.
- If hearing features matter: AirPods Pro (3rd Gen), subject to regional feature availability — check directly with Apple.
- If over-ear comfort matters: AirPods Max (2024 USB-C refresh) is the only in-stock over-ear option — note it is not AirPods Max 2.
- If you want the newest possible features: AirPods 5, AirPods Pro 3 and AirPods Max 2 are Apple's current lineup, but only Pro 3 is currently stocked by The Tech Gadgets.
- If refurbished value is the priority: AirPods Pro (3rd Gen) is currently the clearest genuine saving versus Apple's new price. AirPods (4th Gen) and (4th Gen) ANC are currently not better value than buying a brand-new AirPods 5.
The 30-Second AirPods Decision
- Earbuds or headphones?
- Open fit or silicone/foam-tip fit?
- Need ANC?
- Need the strongest ANC available?
- Need heart-rate tracking?
- Need hearing features?
- Need Live Translation?
- Need wireless charging for the case?
- Lightning or USB-C — does it matter to you?
- New or refurbished?
- Comfortable with unit-specific battery uncertainty on a used pair?
- What's your budget?
- Check the live price for your shortlisted model.
- Check live stock.
- Buy the exact model — not just the generation number.
Common AirPods Buying Mistakes
- Buying by generation number alone, without checking what actually changed.
- Confusing AirPods 4 with ANC with AirPods 5 — they are different products with different ANC strength, per Apple.
- Confusing the AirPods Pro 2 USB-C case revision with AirPods Pro 3 — different generations.
- Confusing the 2024 USB-C AirPods Max refresh with AirPods Max 2 — different generations, confirmed above.
- Assuming every new generation is automatically better value at every price point.
- Assuming refurbished is always cheaper than buying new — it currently isn't for AirPods 4 or AirPods 4 ANC versus a new AirPods 5.
- Paying more for a used AirPods 4 than a brand-new AirPods 5 without comparing features first.
- Ignoring the open-ear vs sealed-tip fit difference and buying based on ANC strength alone.
- Assuming you need sealed-tip ANC when you actually dislike tips — AirPods 5 offers open-ear ANC instead.
- Assuming every AirPods model has ANC — most standard-tier models before AirPods 4 ANC and AirPods 5 do not.
- Assuming every model supports Live Translation — check the specific generation.
- Ignoring the iPhone and Apple Intelligence requirements behind features like Live Translation and Siri AI.
- Assuming AirPods Pro's health features work identically in every country.
- Assuming an IP rating means waterproof — it doesn't.
- Assuming a refurbished unit's battery is new or matches Apple's original published figures.
- Assuming Apple's new-device battery specification applies unchanged to a used, refurbished pair.
- Assuming every original accessory is included with a refurbished purchase.
- Assuming spare ear tips are included by default.
- Assuming the AirPods Max Smart Case is included by default.
- Treating a serial number alone as proof of authenticity.
- Ignoring warranty exclusions, particularly around battery wear.
- Ignoring the specific returns policy rather than assuming generic consumer expectations.
- Trusting a stock badge without checking the live product page at the time of ordering.
- Buying based solely on a struck-through compare-at price without checking the actual current price elsewhere.
- Assuming Android gets the full Apple feature set — it doesn't.
- Choosing AirPods Max when portability actually matters more to your daily routine.
- Choosing a Pro model when you strongly dislike the feel of silicone or foam tips.
- Buying the newest-numbered model without checking whether the current store price genuinely reflects good value against Apple's new price.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which AirPods should I buy?
Depends on fit and budget: AirPods 5 (new) for open-ear ANC, AirPods Pro 3 (refurbished at The Tech Gadgets, or new from Apple) for the strongest sealed ANC and fitness features, or AirPods (2nd Gen) refurbished for the lowest price with no ANC.
Which AirPods are best in 2026?
Apple's current flagships are AirPods 5 (open-ear), AirPods Pro 3 (in-ear) and AirPods Max 2 (over-ear) — each "best" for a different fit preference, not one universal winner.
What are the latest AirPods?
AirPods 5, announced 9 September 2026 and available from 18 September, is the newest standard-tier model. AirPods Pro 3 and AirPods Max 2 are also current-generation, announced earlier in 2026.
How much are AirPods in the UK?
It depends on the model: AirPods 5 is Apple's lowest-priced new model and AirPods Max 2 its most expensive, while The Tech Gadgets' refurbished Pristine Condition range runs from AirPods (2nd Gen) at the low end to AirPods Max at the top. Prices change, so check the live product page — and always compare new and refurbished before assuming refurbished is cheaper.
Are refurbished AirPods worth buying?
Sometimes. The Tech Gadgets' AirPods Pro (3rd Gen) currently undercuts Apple's new price. Its AirPods (4th Gen) and (4th Gen) ANC currently do not, since a new AirPods 5 is cheaper and better-specified.
AirPods 5 vs AirPods 4 — which is better?
AirPods 5, for the same price Apple originally charged for AirPods 4 — it adds ANC, Live Translation and Siri AI that AirPods 4 doesn't have.
Are AirPods 5 worth it?
Yes for most buyers wanting open-ear ANC at Apple's current entry price, especially since AirPods 4 is no longer sold new by Apple at any price.
Do AirPods 5 have ANC?
Yes, both the standard and Wireless Charging Case versions include Active Noise Cancellation.
Which AirPods 5 should I buy?
The Wireless Charging Case version if you want wireless charging, a volume swipe control and a slightly longer battery figure; the standard version if you're happy with USB-C charging only.
Is the AirPods 5 Wireless Charging Case version worth it?
If you already use Qi or MagSafe wireless chargers and want the extra hour of ANC battery and volume swipe control, yes; otherwise the standard version has identical ANC and audio features.
AirPods Pro 2 vs Pro 3 — which should I buy?
Pro 3 if heart rate sensing, higher IP57 water resistance, two extra hours of ANC battery, or Live Translation matter to you. Pro 2 remains good value if none of those specifically matter.
Are AirPods Pro 2 still worth it?
Yes, since it costs less than Pro 3 at The Tech Gadgets, if you don't need Pro 3's heart rate sensor or hearing features.
Are AirPods Pro 3 worth the extra money?
At The Tech Gadgets, the extra cost over Pro 2 buys a heart rate sensor, longer ANC battery, higher water resistance and Live Translation — worth it if you'll use any of those features.
AirPods Max vs Max 2 — what's different?
Max 2 has the newer H2 chip, up to 1.5x more ANC, lossless audio via USB-C, Live Translation, and new colours. The store's "2024 refresh" AirPods Max has the older H1 chip and none of those additions — only a USB-C connector update to the original 2020 model.
Is AirPods Max 2 worth it?
As a new purchase, it's worth it if lossless USB-C audio, stronger ANC and Live Translation on an over-ear design matter to you. The Tech Gadgets does not currently stock it.
Is the 2024 AirPods Max the same as Max 2?
No — confirmed above. The 2024 refresh is a connector update to the original AirPods Max; Max 2 is a distinct, newer generation.
Which AirPods have Transparency mode?
All current ANC-equipped models — AirPods 4 ANC, AirPods 5, the AirPods Pro range and AirPods Max range — include Transparency mode.
Which AirPods have Adaptive Audio?
AirPods 4 with ANC, AirPods 5, and the current AirPods Pro models include Adaptive Audio, which automatically blends ANC and Transparency.
Which AirPods support Siri AI?
AirPods 5, per Apple's current product page — Siri AI itself is a new, beta feature rolling out with iOS 27 from 14 September 2026, initially in English.
Which AirPods track heart rate?
Only AirPods Pro 3, currently.
Which AirPods support hearing features?
AirPods Pro 3, with Apple describing Hearing Test, Hearing Aid and Hearing Protection as regulated features with region-dependent availability.
Which AirPods have the longest battery?
AirPods Max and Max 2, at up to 20 hours with ANC — the longest single-charge figure of any current or store-stocked model.
Which AirPods use USB-C?
AirPods (4th Gen and ANC), AirPods 5 (both variants), AirPods Pro (2nd Gen and 3rd Gen), and both AirPods Max generations. AirPods (2nd and 3rd Gen) use Lightning-based cases.
Which AirPods support wireless charging?
AirPods (3rd Gen), AirPods (4th Gen) ANC, AirPods 5 Wireless Charging Case, and both AirPods Pro generations support Qi/MagSafe wireless charging. The standard AirPods 5 case does not.
Which AirPods are best for running?
AirPods Pro 3 for its IP57 rating and heart rate sensor; AirPods (3rd Gen) at IPX4 as a lower-cost sweat-resistant alternative.
Which AirPods are best for calls?
Any current generation handles calls via Voice Isolation; a Pro model's sealed fit typically keeps the mic array more consistently positioned in noisy environments.
Which AirPods are best for flights?
AirPods Max/Max 2 for the longest battery and strongest passive+active isolation; AirPods Pro 3 as the best pocketable earbud alternative.
Which AirPods are most comfortable?
Personal preference — open-ear models (AirPods standard range) suit those who dislike tips; over-ear (AirPods Max) suits those who find any in-ear design uncomfortable for long sessions; sealed in-ear (Pro range) suits those who want maximum isolation and don't mind tips.
Which AirPods don't use ear tips?
All standard AirPods generations (2nd through 5th) use an open, tip-free fit. Only the Pro range uses silicone or foam-infused tips.
Do AirPods work with Android?
Yes for basic Bluetooth audio and calls on any model. Apple ecosystem features — automatic switching, Siri, Spatial Audio head tracking, Live Translation, Find My — are not available on Android.
Which AirPods work with iPhone 18?
All current AirPods models pair with any current iPhone over Bluetooth; features like Live Translation and Siri AI additionally require an Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone on a current iOS version.
How can I tell if AirPods are genuine?
Use multiple signals together — official pairing animation, correct Find My behaviour, seller reputation and warranty, and realistic pricing — rather than relying on a serial number alone, since serial numbers can be copied onto counterfeit units.
Are refurbished AirPods genuine?
The Tech Gadgets' listings describe genuine Apple AirPods in used, Pristine Condition — we have not independently authenticated stock ourselves, so use the verification checklist above on arrival regardless of retailer.
What does Pristine Condition mean?
A single used/refurbished grade at The Tech Gadgets, described as professionally tested and cleaned to a like-new standard — not the four-tier grading scale used for some other refurbished products on the site.
Do refurbished AirPods have new batteries?
Not confirmed on any of The Tech Gadgets' current listings — battery condition isn't documented per unit, so ask directly if this matters to you.
What comes with refurbished AirPods?
Earbuds/headphones and the charging case are confirmed on every listing. Charging cables, spare ear tips and the AirPods Max Smart Case are not confirmed — check with The Tech Gadgets before ordering.
Do they come with a charging case?
Yes, confirmed on all seven current listings.
What warranty is included?
A 12-month The Tech Gadgets warranty covering manufacturing defects and functional faults, excluding battery, physical and water damage.
Can refurbished AirPods be returned?
Yes, within 30 days of delivery, per The Tech Gadgets' published returns policy, which does not document a specific hygiene exclusion for audio products.
Related Content
- AirPods vs Galaxy Buds UK: Which Wireless Earbuds Should You Buy?
- Best Samsung Galaxy Buds to Buy in the UK (2026)
- iPhone 18 Pro UK Launch Guide: Price, Release Date & Everything Apple Announced
- Refurbished Apple iPad Buying Guide UK (2026)
- Shop all current refurbished AirPods
- Warranty policy
- Returns policy
- Contact The Tech Gadgets
Which AirPods Are Right for You?
Choose your fit first — open-ear, sealed in-ear or over-ear — then decide whether you need ANC and newer features such as Live Translation or heart-rate sensing. Finally compare the current new and refurbished prices, confirm what's included and check live stock before ordering.
Last updated: 10 September 2026. Apple UK lineup checked: 10 September 2026. Check each product page for today's price and stock. This guide will be updated as Apple's AirPods 5 availability status changes, as store stock and pricing change, and if The Tech Gadgets begins stocking AirPods 5 or AirPods Max 2.